Living the life in Ecuador

Hello all,

 

The teaching styles of the two teachers I work with are similar but in different ways since they are with different grades. I do student interventions- which will either be pull outs or push-ins with Margarita in mostly third grade but second grade as well. Estefy does the same interventions but with fourth through sixth grade. I always wanted to work with the younger students since in MA, I worked as a preschool teacher for two years but now after working with student in fourth, fifth and sixth grade; I feel like I would like working with older grades too. Also as for the interventions I can do I’m excited because I get to do more planning and teaching the intervention to the student with Marga and Estefy helping if the student doesn’t understand what I mean or if it’s the other way around. Some interventions I can’t do because it is in Spanish but I did one the last week in a push in setting and I think it went well as well as the positive feedback I got from the Spanish teacher.    

 

Another interesting thing that happened today, is I found out one of the student’s knows American Sign Language and we talked about that. The student told me that both of her uncles are blind and deaf on her father’s side. She also knows Spanish Sign Language and taught me some signs. The alphabet is a bit different but not too far from American Sign Language. I got to sit in on an art class while the teachers I’m working with was in a meeting. In art they are allowed to talk in Spanish and the students tried to teach me some Spanish;  one of the students says I’m getting better everyday and that’s its cool that I’m trying to speak it to them and learn from them. Another good thing about sitting in on the art class is that I get to see the students strengths that I’m working with as well as helping them in their weakness and it helps me to see both so I can plan my interventions to the best of my ability.

 

2 thoughts on “Living the life in Ecuador

  1. What are some things you do during the interventions? That is awesome that you are able to work with multiple grades. It is great to get exposure to as many grades as possible, so you can see which grade you really like. I loved the story about your student using American Sign Language. ASL is such a fascinating language, it’s interesting to read that Spanish sign language is not too different from ASL. Enjoy your last few weeks in Ecuador!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *