Zurich to Italy!

Being pretty centrally located in Europe has its perks. It is pretty easy to get to surrounding countries and doesn’t take much time or money. Surprisingly we have found that it is cheaper to travel from Zurich to another country such as Italy or Germany, than it is to travel within Switzerland itself. Although Switzerland itself is a beautiful country I am trying to travel inside the country on week days, specifically Wednesday because every Wednesday is a half day or take smaller day trips. I have been saving my weekends for larger trips. Two weekends ago and this weekend I have traveled to Italy.

First Me an Amelia both traveled to Milan for a long day trip. We got on a Flix Bus early in the morning and traveled about four hours to Milan. Upon arrival there was magnificent architecture and very large cathedrals and buildings. For the day we took the time to walk around the city and look through all the different stores. We tried to go to the Santa Maria delle Grazie, the church with Da Vinci’s  The Last Supper , but tickets were booked out for two weeks.  So instead we continued our journey and decided to go to the Sforza Castle  and see the Porta Sempione.  To end our trip in Italy we obviously had to get gelato, which was some of the best gelato I have ever had and pasta, which was also amazing before boarding our bus back to Zurich.

Over the past few weeks I have been looking up flights to different countries and different places to visit. I have been trying to find somewhere that wouldn’t cost me a whole lot of money, but still be a great place to see. This past weekend I decided last minute to take a trip to Venice. Thursday night I had been up searching for flights and to fly to Venice round trip was only $88 if I left the next morning at 7:45. So I went for it and I am glad I did. It was a quick flight, only about an hour and I stayed for two nights.

For the next three days i wandered the streets and waterways of Venice

5 thoughts on “Zurich to Italy!

  1. That’s awesome that you were able to travel during your stay. It was hard making a decision on where to go when I decided I wanted to study abroad, and one of the factors I took into consideration was being able to travel within my time. Sounds like you had a great time!
    Maya

  2. Wow! I am so jealous of all the traveling that you get to do! I love how your schedule is set up so even during the week you have time to travel. It sounds like you are really using your time wisely and getting the most out of your trip. Enjoy!

  3. Hi Samantha,

    I studied abroad in Florence last summer and I think Italy is amazing. Venice and Milan are such beautiful cities, it’s awesome you were able to take a couple of weekend trips to see the sights and eat some gelato!

  4. That sounds amazing! I am going to Rome next weekend with Baileigh! We are so excited and have pre-booked tickets to the Vatican because we were told that we couldn’t just show up for it.

  5. Samantha,
    It sounds like you are having a great time traveling around Europe! I have found the same, that it is cheap to fly between countries in Europe! I’m glad that you had such a nice time in Milan. I took a day trip to London a few weeks ago and it was so much fun! If you have time before leaving, it is definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *